Themusingwell's Blog

January 19, 2010

Helpless

Filed under: Uncategorized — WeeBanshee @ 5:19 pm

I’ve been watching the news – who hasn’t – and I leave my television, usually in tears, feeling utterly helpless.  Yes, Napoleon and I have sent money but I still feel helpless.  I want to be there.  I want to hold the hand of a crying child and offer a pair of warm, caring arms.  I want to hand out food and water.  I want to DO something besides write a check. 

If I were there, I have no doubt I’d be more of a hindrance than a help.  The sheer chaos of the place would freak me out.  I think of all the aid workers down there, risking their lives.  How do they cope?  Surely there are new people among the ranks who have joined up – probably without a second thought – and who are now under unbelievable stress and yet, still helping. 

I applaud everyone down there from the doctors, nurses, civil engineers, just plain people – who are giving it their all to help a people and a country that have long languished out of the spotlight.  Haiti cannot afford one more piece of bad luck.

I wonder about all of the tourist hot spots near by – Cuba is a winter getaway for all Canadians as is the Dominican Republic.  How can anyone lie on a beach, relaxed and utterly self-absorbed, while only a short haul flight away, there are bodies rotting in the streets and children wailing from hurt and hunger?  My sister-in-law and her boyfriend are on their way to Cuba right now and I wonder if they know how close they are? 

Should I denounce those who I know are fully capable both physically and financially of helping who don’t?  I’m torn.  Yes, everyone who works hard deserves a holiday but I wouldn’t sleep at night knowing  almost within sight of the island I was basking on was hell on earth and I could do something about it…

Maybe I just suffer from too much Catholic guilt.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

