Themusingwell's Blog

November 24, 2009

Talking To Myself In Public

Filed under: Uncategorized — WeeBanshee @ 8:18 pm

Ok, so its evident that I have a blog that no one reads. 

 That’s ok.  No, it isn’t.  It’s bad.  Very bad. 

Having a blog that languishes, unread, is like being caught talking to yourself in public.  Sad.  Embarassing.  And, I know whereof I speak.  Usually, I have Boomer with me (if anyone out there read this you’d know that Boomer is my aged Lab/Chow mix) so when I have these conversations, I can at least pretend I’m talking to him.  Still sad but not as sad.

I’ve put the word out there that I have a blog – I’ve told friends and family.  Well, ok, not all of them.  And, yes I know everyone is very busy.  I haven’t told Napoleon himself (again, if you were keeping up, you’d know who that is) as he would not approve. 

Napoleon wants me to get a real job; a paying job.  Perhaps he’d like me to have a writing job but frankly, he could care less what I do as long as it brings in some dough.  Yes, I know there are people who earn money blogging but the question I have is: who are these people, how did they get started, who do they work for and is there any work for me? 

That was more than one question, I realize.

I can write.  I can write in any style, any format, in any voice.  I can be stern and strident.  I can be cold and clinical.  I can be easy and breezy.  I can be just me.  I know what I’m doing but I just haven’t found anyone to believe in me.  I haven’t found anyone to read me.

What oh what shall I do?

I have prowled Helium, Suite 101; I check out Deb Ng’s site almost daily.  The problem?  I have no material, no clips, no substantiated proof (published proof) that I know what I’m doing.  Maybe I don’t know what I’m doing.  Maybe being able to string a sentence together isn’t enough.

This feels very familiar to my household:  I talk, no one listens.  I can follow behind the children and Napoleon and be completely ignored.  I’m sure all they hear is “Wah, wah, wah…” like the teacher in the Peanuts comic strips…

Can anyone out there hear me??????

Oh hi, Boomer.  There’s a good boy…

Sigh.

I’d like to know the following:

1. what am I doing wrong?

2. how can I fix it?

3. how do I get my writing out there so people can see it?

4. what does it take to get read?  And, is getting read enough?

5. how can I get paid to blog without being an “expert” at something? 

Why am I writing this list if no one is going to read it?

Arrgggghhhh.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

